Move data from MySQL to MS SQL

Yesterday I’ve faced the problem with moving data from MySQL to MSSQL Server. I’ve used Integration Services (DTS) to transfer data with ADO.NET connection to MySQL (via Connector/NET). After running the import process a lot of conversation errors occurs. Main problem is in difference between MySQL Int and MS SQL Int, but I used to think that in ADO.NET all datatypes are mapped to some virtual types and then back to correct types in chosen database. I had no enough time to figure out the problem, so I’ve resolved it by adding DataConversion module and I have converted all integers from MySQL to strings, and it works now, but I hate situations when I don’t now what is the problem exactly.

1 comment so far

  1. Alexander Arendar on

    Hehe 🙂
    It should have been really annoying that some shitty int-s crap the whole thing )) But what is important that you anyway migrate the DB. Enjoy )


Leave a Reply

